Paper: Indian Political System

Paper code: 18BPO62C

Class: III BA Political Science

Faculty Name: Dr. M. PRAVIN KUMAR

UNIT 1

Historical background of Indian political system:

- Government of India Act 1858 Its provisions called for the liquidation of the British East India Company and the transference of its functions to the British Crown.
- Indian council Act of 1909 It is also known as Morley- Minto Reform. It was instituted to placate the Moderates (Congress) and introduces separate electorates on the basis of religion.
- Government of India Act 1919 It is also known as Montague Chelmsford Reform. It was passed to expand participation of Indians in the government of India.
- Government of India Act 1935 The Government of India Act,
 1935 was an Act adapted from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It originally received royal assent in August 1935. It was the longest Act of (British) Parliament ever enacted until Greater London Authority Act 1999 surpassed it.

Composition of the Constituent Assembly:

- Initially, the number of members was 389. After partition, some of the members went to Pakistan and the number came down to 299. Out of this, 229 were from the British provinces and 70 were nominated from the princely states.
- Dr. Sachchidananda Sinha was the first temporary chairman of the Constituent Assembly. Later, Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as the President and its Vice President was Harendra Coomar Mookerjee. BN Rau was the constitutional advisor.

Preamble of the constitution:

WE, THE PEOPLE OF INDIA, having solemnly resolved to constitute India into a SOVEREIGN SOCIALIST SECULAR DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC and to secure to all its citizens: JUSTICE, social, economic and political;

LIBERTY of thought, expression, belief, faith and worship;

EQUALITY of status and of opportunity, and to promote among them all, FRATERNITY assuring the dignity of the individual and the unity and integrity of the Nation;

IN OUR CONSTITUENT ASSEMBLY this 26th day of November 1949, do HEREBY ADOPT, ENACT AND GIVE TO OURSELVES THIS CONSTITUTION.

• The term 'Socialist', 'Secular', and 'Integrity' were added to the preamble through 42nd Amendment Act, 1976.